Search Tips for Museum Collections

CONTENTS


1. UK Museums in the Collections Trust Spoliation Reports


2. US Museum Search artworks for Provenances


3. Canadian Museums


4. European Museums Provenances


5. Swiss Museums Provenance Research Projects


6. US Museums with Provenance PDFs online



7. US Museums for which we were not able to find Provenance
(Please add comment with urls of provenances, if known)


8. GITHUB: Art Museum Collections Basic Reference Information Published on Github
---

1. UK Museums

UK Museums central website to Spoliation Reports with artworks, provenances and questions (Collections Trust)



SEARCH TIP How to search on a keyword across all UK museums on the central Spoliation Report website (example: "private"): 
http://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/?s=private&institute=

-->
Museumurl Spoliation Reports UK Museums
Aberdeen Art Gallery & Museumshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/aberdeen-art-gallery-and-museums/
Amgueddfa Cymruhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/amgueddfa-cymru/
Ashmoleanhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/ashmolean/
Barber Institute of Fine Artshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/barber-institute-of-fine-arts/
Birmingham Museums And Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/birmingham-museums-and-art-gallery/
Bowes Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/bowes-museum/
Bristol Museums & Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/bristol-museums-and-art-gallery/
British Libraryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/british-library/
British Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/british-museum/
Courtauld Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/courtauld-gallery/
Fitzwilliam Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/fitzwilliam-museum/
Glasgow Museumshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/glasgow-museums/
Hull City Museums & Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/hull-city-museums-and-art-gallery/
Hunterian Museum & Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/hunterian-museum-and-art-gallery/
Imperial War Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/imperial-war-museum/
Ironbridge Gorge Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/ironbridge-gorge-museum/
Leicester City Museumshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/leicester-city-museums/
Manchester City Gallerieshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/manchester-city-galleries/
Museum of Londonhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/museum-of-london/
Museum Of The History Of Sciencehttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/museum-of-the-history-of-science/
National Army Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-army-museum/
National Galleries of Scotlandhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-galleries-of-scotland/
National Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-gallery/
National Library of Scotlandhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-library-of-scotland/
National Library of Waleshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-library-of-wales/
National Maritime Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-maritime-museum/
National Museums & Galleries of Northern Irelandhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-museums-galleries-of-northern-ireland/
National Museums Liverpoolhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-museums-liverpool/
National Museums of Scotlandhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-museums-of-scotland/
National Portrait Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-portrait-gallery/
National Trust for Scotlandhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/national-trust-for-scotland/
Natural History Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/natural-history-museum/
Norfolk Museums Servicehttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/norfolk-museums-service/
Northampton Museumshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/northampton-museums/
Pitt Rivers Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/pitt-rivers-museum/
Royal Air Force Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/royal-air-force-museum/
Royal Armouries Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/royal-armouries-museum/
Science Museum Grouphttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/science-museum-group/
Sir John Soane's Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/sir-john-soanes-museum/
Southampton City Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/southampton-city-art-gallery/
Tatehttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/tate/
Tyne and Wear Archives and Museumshttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/tyne-and-wear-archives-and-museums/
Victoria & Albert Museumhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/victoria-and-albert-museum/
Wallace Collectionhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/wallace-collection/
Whipple Museum Of The History Of Sciencehttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/whipple-museum-of-the-history-of-science/
Whitworth Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/whitworth-art-gallery/
York Art Galleryhttp://records.collectionstrust.org.uk/records/york-art-gallery/
additional resources for UK museums provenance research information - London -
TATE Provenance Research Project reports  archived at http://web.archive.org/web/20090105152137/http://www.culturalpropertyadvice.gov.uk/search_spoliations/index.html?sectionDetail=2&iID=tg UK TATE Download CSV of artworks with limited metadata ( metadata for around 70,000 artworks that Tate owns or jointly owns with the National Galleries of Scotland as part of ARTIST ROOMS



The metadata here is released under the Creative Commons Public Domain CC0 licence. Please see the enclosed LICENCE file for more detail.) https://github.com/tategallery/collection/blob/master/README.md

The National Gallery of Art in London List of works with incomplete provenance from 1933–1945

https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/history/collection-history/whereabouts-of-paintings-1933-45 (archived copy here) British Museum : The following old master drawings have an incomplete or uncertain provenance for the period 1933-45 (PDF)


2. American Museums: search collections

AMM NEPIP - ACKLAND -AIC - ARKANSAS -BOSTON - CARNEGIE (CMOA) - CHRYSLER -CLEVELAND - DAM -DETROIT FREER SACKLER - FRED JONES (Okl) -FRICK -  GETTY  -  GUGGENHEIM - HARVARD -INDIANA U - INDIANAPOLIS - KIMBELL - LACMA - MOMA -NCMA - NELSON ATKINS NGA - NORTON SIMON-  PHILADELPHIA -  RINGLING - RISD -SLAM - THYSSEN - TOLEDO - VIRGINIA


4. European Museums Search Collections and Nazi-Era Provenance Projects

RIJKSMUSEUM - 


Kunstmuseum Den Haag (no provenance information in online collection search)



****




****

Lost Art-Datenbank


****

Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique  see description ( https://cultural-goods-wwii.fine-arts-museum.be/fr/accueil)


****

5. Swiss Museums Provenance Projects

GURLITT:  

Nachlass Gurlitt - München: Kunstmuseum Bern (list of works)




6. American Museums WWII Era Provenance Research Project Online PDFs

 Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery of the Smithsonian Institution (PDF dated 9/10/2013 published on internet:


and


Tacoma Art Museum (PDF published on the internet  in 2015: Archived version here)

-----

Toledo Museum (PDF dated 2006: Archived version here) Artwork Provenance Listings by Artist, Title, and Dates —

-----

The Detroit Institute of Arts (original URL http://www.dia.org/art/provenancelistings.aspx, archived version here)



-----

Cantor Arts Center at Stanford UniversityNazi Era Provenance List 
Page 12345  





7. US Museums for which we were NOT able to find provenance online

(please add urls in comments if provenance is available)

Williams College Museum of Art WCMA
http://egallery.williams.edu/advancedsearch/objects/classifications%3APAINTING%3BendDate%3A1943


The High Museum


Rhode Island School of Design Museum
https://risdmuseum.org/art-design/collection


University of Michigan Museum of Art 
The provenance page https://umma.umich.edu/collections/provenance links to artworks but not, it appears, to provenance


The Hood Museum: unable to access provenance which demands a login



(update ongoing....)

SEARCH TIPS 

Sometimes it is faster and easier to search directly from the URL, just changing the search term.

For example, searching for Provenance in the European collection at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art:   https://www.vmfa.museum/collections/search-collections/?collection=European%20Art&keyword=provenance

This returns seven items. Click on each, then on "additional information". To change the search term, replace provenance  Other sources

Kulturhistorisches Museum Rostock  - SAMMLUNG BERNHARD A. BÖHMER Bestände der von den Nationalsozialisten beschlagnahmten Kunst im Kulturhistorischen Museum Rostoc

http://www.kulturhistorisches-museum-rostock.de/fileadmin/media/pdf/Gemaelde2.pdf

http://www.kulturhistorisches-museum-rostock.de/fileadmin/media/pdf/Aquarelle2.pdf

http://www.kulturhistorisches-museum-rostock.de/fileadmin/media/pdf/Druckgrafik2.pdf

http://www.kulturhistorisches-museum-rostock.de/fileadmin/media/pdf/Zeichnungen2.pdf

http://www.kulturhistorisches-museum-rostock.de/fileadmin/media/pdf/Herkunftsmuseum_unbekannt.pdf




8. GITHUB: Art Museum Collections Basic Reference Information Published on Github


MoMa: https://github.com/MuseumofModernArt/collection




Williams College Museum of Art: https://github.com/wcmaart/collection



Metropolitan Museum of Art: https://github.com/metmuseum/openaccess



Cleveland Museum of Art: https://github.com/ClevelandMuseumArt/openaccess/blob/master/README.md




Carnegie Museum of Art: https://github.com/cmoa/collection



No comments: